top of page

How do I prevent writer’s block?

Updated: Oct 27, 2021



Hi,


Writer’s block is something that any writer - no matter what skill level - will encounter from time to time. My personal strategy to prevent writer’s block is as follows:


1) Stop what I am doing.

If I am currently working on a piece of writing and I just can’t make significant progress or have a clear visualization of where I want to go with this, sometimes I will simply just take a break from writing and work on something else. I think this tip works for anything you might get stuck on - just go do something else to clear up your mind, like go on a walk or grab something to eat and come back refreshed and with a different perspective.


2) Change environment

Another tip that I find useful is to change the environment you’re working in, whether that is go to a cafe, move outdoors, to just sit in another room, a change in surroundings keeps things fresh and your attention relatively sharper so that it’ll be harder for you to fall into a writer’s block. In addition, a change in environment also means a change in inspirations which may be beneficial to your writing.


3) Get inspired

Sometimes, the best way to prevent writer’s block or to get out of one is to get inspired by others’ works. For me, I always go to a book called “On Writing Well” by by William Zinsser and “The Element of Style” by William Strunk Jr. I find these two books particularly useful in providing me inspiration when I get stuck in my writing.


I hope you find these helpful.

Dear Letterbox


Image source:

Dear Letter Box // ISB

bottom of page