top of page

What is the best and worst piece of advice a teacher has ever given?



Hello!!


Here is my response to your question. I can’t decide what is best or worst because I have gotten a lot of feedback from the teacher. Still, I especially think the worst advice is commonly given in the language and literary sections. For example, in English literature assessment, some teachers give the grades with broad feedback. Most of the time, I received only “word choice,” “Awkward,” and “wordy.” I can understand because the analysis is subjective, but I sometimes think we have to gain more advice to improve our weaknesses.


On the other hand, the advice from the science parts is more straightforward than others because these studies deal with the situation. For example, the teacher comments like “In this part, you need to mention the relationship between x-axis (average time squared) and y-axis (distance of the object).” These comments helped me easier to follow the next step and reflect on the weakness of my assessment.


I think you cannot agree these are best or worst advice, but I consider that the specific part of feedback is the best to improve and find out the problem of the task.


Cheers,

Dear Letterbox


Image Source:

Dear Letter Box // ISB

bottom of page