top of page

If I found the genie lamp, what three wishes should i ask for?

Dear readers,


Firstly, I am glad to answer the question as I believe this question is both interesting and enjoyable to talk about. Although I think most of you would know what the genie lamp is, I will explain about the genie lamp so that everyone can understand this question. The genie lamp is a lamp that a genie, a magical creature, lives in. You can wish for anything and everything, and the genie will make it possible. I have come up with three wishes that I would ask for, and maybe that those could be wishes that you could ask for as well.


The first wish that I would like to ask for is enabling me to go back to the past and do things that I wish I did. Although I like how things are right now, I sometimes think the things could have been if acted differently. For example, I wish I was more confident when I first came to ISB. Before moving to ISB, I only lived in Korea and went to public schools in Korea, so I did not know how to speak English. As a result, I felt overwhelmed and tried to speak Korean more, which was not the best response. However, if I were confident like now I am, I would have spoken English more and made more friends. However, I am happy that now I am confident enough to go talk to strangers and be friends with them. If you have a similar problem, I believe asking for this wish will be meaningful to you as it will give you more experience.



My second wish that I would like to ask for is going back to Korea for a few weeks to meet friends. When I was about to move to China, I did not know that we would move to China until the last few weeks in Korea, so I did not have enough time to tell friends about it. Although I sometimes call my friends in Korea, I do think spending time in person is different from merely calling. Also, there are plenty of places and things that I want to do together with them. As a result, if I found the genie lamp, I would ask for a few weeks with my friends in Korea so that I will be able to spend time with them.



The last wish that I would ask for is to live in other countries when I grow up. Whenever people ask me about my dream, I would usually say living in a foreign country is my dream, which is somewhat true. Although I am living in a foreign country, I want to live in a foreign country even after I grow up because now I can speak English and a little bit of Chinese, which are foreign languages. Although I would say I am not perfect at them, I learned how to communicate with other people who have different cultural backgrounds or convictions in ISB, and the experience of learning new languages and communicating with new people turned out to be a big source of happiness to me. Therefore, I would like to ask the genie lamp for a life in a foreign country.



To sum up, this is my wishlist, and I hope you can come up with your wishlist as well, but remember you only have three wishes to ask for, so be thoughtful.


Dear Letterbox



Image source:

Dear Letter Box // ISB

bottom of page