top of page

What gives you the right?



Dearest client,


Biologically, us as homo sapiens have a right side. So to answer your question, evolution gave me the right. Coincidentally, it also gave me a left.


Our sincerest regards,

Dear Letterbox


Actually though, there are a lot of different ways you can take this question, but I’m going to assume you’re asking why you should trust us with the answers to your burning inquiries. And the thing is that I’m not telling you you should. Critical thinking. Make your own opinions. I'm just here to tell you some of the reasons why you would ask us about your dilemmas.


I could spew some nonsense about how we are a “group of passionate students driven to help others” but I don’t think that that’s really what you want to hear. And to be honest, I’d be lying if I said it was the full truth that I could give to you with a right conscience.


The truth is, I don’t. Have the right. I don’t know your story, I don’t know the context behind your questions, I don’t know how you’re really feeling or how big or small of a deal everything seems to you. I don’t know you, and as such, I can only vaguely sympathize with your situation. I am in no place to tell you what to do or to pretend I understand your feelings. But sometimes an outside perspective is all you need. We can give you a different way of looking at things because we don’t have the right, because we don’t understand you.


Sometimes you just need someone to tell you, calmly, that you’re freaking out over nothing and that your crush doesn’t hate you and that a burger is not technically a sandwich. Sometimes all you need is just some good ol’ realistic advice from someone who doesn’t understand how big of a deal it is to you. Sometimes all you need is just another stupid teenager to answer your stupid teenage questions. And that’s our job. That’s what we’re here for.


So no, we don’t have the right. But maybe that’s the point.


Although, I get the odd hunch that this question wasn’t meant to go in this direction and that this entire thing is just a reference to The Office. In which case: *long pause* Um, I-I brought the binder. Do you wanna...take a little look?


Our sincerest regards,

Dear Letterbox



Image Source:

Dear Letter Box // ISB

bottom of page