top of page

What would be the worst present a child could receive for Christmas?


Greetings!


Ever heard of the phrase, “one man’s trash is another man’s treasure”? This phrase definitely applies to many things, including Christmas gifts. Honestly, each child has their own preference of what “the worst Christmas present” could be. For example, one child might go for, let’s say, a pair of socks; however, another child would rather receive coal from Father Christmas himself than ever receive socks.


When I was just a small 2nd grade kid, my parents really wanted my English to improve, so they thought an Oxford dictionary might have been a nice little Christmas gift. Other kids might have thrown a tantrum, or they might have thrown the dictionary back at their parents, but I did neither. I carried the thick blue book with me around everywhere, and I would read a few pages every night, expanding my vocabulary exponentially. 2nd grade me believed that a dictionary was the best Christmas gift in the world. Looking back, I realise dictionary might not have been the ideal gift for a 2nd grader, but that was my preference at the time.


On that note, I hope none of your parents gift you a dictionary this Christmas, and have a wonderful winter break :)


Cheers,


Dear Letterbox



Image source:

Dear Letter Box // ISB

bottom of page