top of page

I have a crush on a senior?



Hi,


I don’t know, do you?


Yours sincerely,

Dear Letterbox


Just kidding.


In all seriousness, I think you meant to ask “I have a crush on a senior, what do I do?”


In this case, I’d pat on your back and say good luck, because it will be quite hard for you to do anything about it. The seniors are busy with IA deadlines, grades, college applications (ED, ED2, EA, RA, RD... there’s just so many!), and the May finals of IB. They are just very busy, they are burnt out, and they don’t have time (from a very objective standpoint). However, if they are really into you, or they see a chance of being happy with you, they are willing to give a chance as well!` By all means, I am not against having a crush on a senior, it is just going to put a big toll on you mentally, and I just would not want to see anyone (especially you!) being potentially sad over a crush.


However, (this part is probably why you asked the question at the first place) I have asked around my friends, and they do think that you should go for it, and I can see why. If you want to ‘go for it’, you should think about your objective for this potential relationship first. Do you want a long term relationship? Is it just a fling? Are you hoping to continue the relationship after the senior graduates (I personally don’t recommend this). It is their last year of high school, and you, my friend, don’t really have anything to lose, right?


Although this answer may be a *little bit* biased, at the end of the day, my honest suggestion is to just to take a step back and ask yourself what you want the most, because it is your feelings, and you know what is the best for yourself, because as the old saying goes, you know yourself the best.


With love,

Dear Letterbox



Image source:



Dear Letter Box // ISB

bottom of page