top of page

What do I do if the guy who “likes me” is being [annoying] and avoiding me



Hi there!


Boys are confusing creatures (no offence to the boys out there). Sometimes they show everything they are thinking on their faces, and sometimes you have no clue what they are thinking.


The actions you should take towards this issue are entirely up to how you approach it and what your existing relationship with this guy is like. For example, would you care if he’s avoiding you? Personally, suppose this person is someone I find incredibly annoying and do not want to affiliate myself with. In that case, it’s actually to my benefit that they are avoiding me. However, if you are friends (or even acquaintances) with this person, then him avoiding you might be something that you really do care about and want to change. In this case, you might want to confront him (if you aren’t too shy about it). The key to healthy relationships is communication, and if you really want to find out what is going on, it’s best if you talk to each other. And remember, it’s best that you don’t do so through someone else, as communicating personally will get things sorted much faster and easier.


However, I acknowledge that not everyone is capable of confrontation, which is completely okay. A few things that you could do is find out the situation bit by bit. Maybe ask one of his friends (subtly, of course - don’t make it too obvious), or maybe ask him through texts (once again, if you’re too shy, don’t be too straightforward).


Lastly, to address the issue of him annoying you, simply don’t give him any attention. His goal from bugging you is to receive attention - so if you want him to stop, simply do not give him that satisfaction. Once he catches on that he won’t be receiving the reaction that he expected, he will stop. For example, my older brother always liked to make fun of me and annoy me when we were kids. I always got mad at him and complained to my Mom about it. She told me that my brother only did all of that because he thought my reaction was funny, so I stopped giving him the same responses as before and ignored his banter. He eventually stopped making fun of (read “harassing”) me.


I hope that this helped!


Dear Letterbox



Dear Letter Box // ISB

bottom of page